Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Florida Personal Injury Lawyers / Port St. Lucie ART Bus Accident Lawyer

Port St. Lucie ART Bus Accident Lawyer

The Area Regional Transit system in St. Lucie County serves millions of people each year. It represents a significant boost to the local economy and has made Port St. Lucie accessible for many seniors who no longer wish to drive. Someone without a car can now easily shuttle between Port St. Lucie and Fort Pierce and nearby areas, all at an affordable price.

Unfortunately, buses can get into accidents, especially when traffic is congested. If you were hit by an ART bus, or if you were a passenger when the bus got into a crash, please contact us. A Port St. Lucie ART bus accident lawyer at Smith, Ball & Báez can talk about your case in a confidential meeting. We can answer any questions you have about your ability to receive compensation for injuries sustained in the crash.

Bus Accidents Cause Serious Injuries

The ART buses are typically very large, and they can crunch smaller vehicles in their way. Anyone riding the bus can also get tossed about and suffer serious injuries.

Our firm has assisted victims suffering from:

  • Neck injuries
  • Facial injuries
  • Concussions
  • Whiplash
  • Traumatic brain injuries
  • Shoulder injuries
  • Herniated discs
  • Pinched nerves
  • Back injuries

After a collision, you should quickly go to the emergency room for treatment. A doctor can diagnose your injuries and provide immediate treatment. Many traumatic injuries could be life threatening, such as brain injuries.

Suing the ART System

If you were injured by a private bus like Greyhound, then you could easily sue the company for the crash. Chances are, their driver was negligent, and the bus company would be automatically liable for the collision. However, things are a little different when the government owns the bus. Generally, the state of Florida and its municipalities are immune from lawsuits.

Helpfully, Florida law has made an exception to this immunity when people are hurt by negligent state employees. You will need to submit a written claim to the state first, within 3 years of the accident. If a loved one died in the bus accident, you need to submit your claim within 2 years.

The law also typically limits the amount victims can receive to $200,000, and the state won’t pay punitive damages, even if the bus driver acted with gross negligence. There is a process for receiving more in a settlement, but that isn’t guaranteed.

We Advocate for Victims Like You

The lawyers at Smith, Ball & Báez understand your obligations when injured by an ART bus. We can gather information quickly if you contact us. We will also file an appropriate notice in the correct office so that your rights are protected. If you just ran to court to sue without filing a necessary claim, then a judge will kick your case out of court. Get experienced legal help.

The ART system might investigate and offer a settlement, but you should have a lawyer review it to see that it is fair. Our Port St. Lucie ART bus accident lawyer can help.